Opera and Dessert: Happy Valentine’s Day!

Happy Valentine’s Day Eve, Darlings!

It doesn’t matter what your week started out like. If you take the following suggestions to heart this February the 14th, your Valentine’s Day is sure to beat your expectations.

Divine music + Beautiful Poetry + Sugar = LOVE

cc-devour-francois_heart-shaped-chocolate-raspberry-cakes-08_s4x3-jpg-rend-hgtvcom-616-462

Below you will find our recommended dessert pairing with our favorite romantic Opera scenes.

#fabfoodpairings

Enjoy!

Click here for the Spotify playlist:

boheme3

La Boheme Act 1 duet: “O soave fanciulla”- Hot fudge sundae
Pair this classic with a delicious hot fudge sundae. Make sure to top it with a maraschino cherry, because these two are almost too sweet. Here is the long story short. Mimi is cold like ice cream. Rodolfo wants to warm up her cold little hands. Basically just an operatic version of a hot fudge sundae.

Rodolfo:
O loveliest of maidens, O sweetest vision,
Bathed in the soft glow of a moonbeam;
In you, I see a dream come to life–
A dream I pray always to dream!
Mimì:
(Ah! You alone command us, O Love!)
In the depth of my soul
I tremble with the height of passion.
Your kisses thrill Love itself!
(O! How sweetly does his flattery fall upon my heart…
You alone command me, Beloved!)
No, I beg you!
Be mine!
You’re expected by your friends …
Already I’m sent away?
I’d rather say… but I dare not …
Say …
Might I go along with you?
What? Mimi?!
It would be so much sweeter to stay here. It’s freezing outside.
I shall stay close to you!
And when we return?
You’d like to know!
Let me take your arm, my dear little one.
I shall oblige, kind sir!
Tell me you love me!
I love you!
My darling! My love! My love!

art2

Tristan und Isolde Act II Duet: “O sink, hernieder, Nacht der Liebe”-
Ghirardelli intense dark sea salt soiree chocolate bar

Tristan and Isolde are bound by a love potion they consumed while journeying from Ireland by sea. They must resort to clandestine meetings under the cover of night to be together.

TOGETHER
Descend,
O Night of love,
grant oblivion
that I may live;
take me up
into your bosom,
release me from
the world!
TRISTAN
Extinguished now
the last glimmers;
ISOLDE
what we thought,
what we imagined;
TRISTAN
all thought
ISOLDE
all remembering,
TOGETHER
the glorious presentiment
of sacred twilight
extinguishes imagined terrors,
World-redeeming.
ISOLDE
The sun concealed
itself in our bosom,
the stars of bliss
gleam, laughing,
TRISTAN
softly entwined
in your magic,
sweetly dissolved
before your eyes;
ISOLDE
heart on your heart,
mouth on mouth;
TRISTAN
the single bond
of a single breath;
TOGETHER
my glance is deflected,
dazzled with bliss,
the world palses
with its blinding radiance:
ISOLDE
lit by Day’s
guileful deception,
TRISTAN
standing firm against
deceitful delusion,
TOGETHER
then am I
myself the world;
floating in sublime bliss,
life of love most sacred,
the sweetly conscious
undeluded wish
never again to waken.

imgres

Turandot Act III Duet: “Del primo pianto…” – Chocolate covered espresso beans.

These two lovebirds have been up all night. Proclamations of love at dawn require a touch of caffeine. Creme brûlée also accompanies this scene very well… underneath her hard shell, Turandot is really just a sweet girl looking for true love.

TURANDOT
My first tears…ah!
My first tears, yes,
stranger, when you arrived,
with anguish I felt
the fatal shudder of this great illness.
How many I’ve seen die for me!
And I scorned them;
but you, I feared!
In your eyes there was
the light of heroes!
In your eyes there was
haughty certainty…
And for that I hated you…
And I loved you for that,
tormented and torn
between two equal fears:
to defeat you or be defeated…
And I am defeated… Ah!
Defeated, not so much by the trial
as by his fever
that comes to me from you!

THE UNKNOWN PRINCE
You’re mine! Mine!

TURANDOT
This, this is what you sought.
Now you know.
Don’t seek a greater victory…
go, stranger…
with your mystery!

TURANDOT
Del primo pianto…ah!
Del primo pianto, sì,
straniero, quando sei giunto,
con angoscia ho sentito
il brivido fatale di questo mal supremo.
Quanti ho visto morire per me!
E li ho spregiati;
ma ho temuto te!
C’era negli occhi tuoi
la luce degli eroi!
C’era negli occhi tuoi
la superba certezza…
E ti ho odiato per quella…
E per quella t’ho amato,
tormentata e divisa
fra due terrori uguali:
Vincerti o esser vinta…
E vinta son…Ah!
Vinta, più che dall’alta prova,
da questa febbre
che mi vien da te!

IL PRINCIPE IGNOTO
Sei mia! mia!

TURANDOT
Questo, questo chiedevi.
Ora lo sai.
Più gran vittoria non voler…
parti, straniero…
col tuo mister!

THE UNKNOWN PRINCE
My mystery?
I no longer have one!
You are mine!
You who tremble if I touch you!
You who pale when I kiss you,
can destroy me if you will.
My name and my life
I give you together.
I am Calaf, son of Timur!

TURANDOT
I know your name!

CALAF
My glory is your embrace!

TURANDOT
Listen! The trumpets blare!

CALAF
My life is your kiss!

TURANDOT
Lo, the hour has come!
It’s the hour of the trial!

CALAF
I do not fear it!

TURANDOT
Ah, Calaf! come with me before the people!

CALAF
You have won!

grasset-werther
Werther Act III duet: “Et moi Werther…”-  Dark chocolate soufflé

Sit back and enjoy this beauty with a nice cozy blanket and some dim lighting . Werther is definitely for those who like their women like a dark chocolate soufflé… a lady who is extremely delicate…and just a touch bitter.

CHARLOTTE
And I, Werther, (as for) me, I love you!
Yes, from the very day
when you appeared before my eyes..
I sensed that a chain impossible to break
tied us together – the two of us!
To the neglect of my duty, I preferred your pain
And in order not lose (my soul in sin),
Alas! I have lost you!

WERTHER
Speak again! Speak!… I implore you!

CHARLOTTE
But if death is approaching, before it takes you…
ah! your kiss! your kiss! I will have given it back!
(she kisses him)
May your soul into my soul passionately melt itself!
In this kiss, may it forget forever
All the sufferings, the sorrows,
May it forget all the pain!

WERTHER
Everything! Let’s forget everything!

CHARLOTTE
Everything! Let’s forget everything!

CHARLOTTE AND WERTHER
Let us forget everyting!.Everyting!.Everything!

CHILDREN
Noël! Noël! Noël!

CHARLOTTE
God! These joyous cries! In this cruel moment!

CHILDREN
Jesus is just born, here is our divine Lord,
Kings and shepherds of Israel!

WERTHER(lifting himself – halucinating)
Ah! The children… the angels…

CHILDREN
Noël! Noël! Noël!

WERTHER
Yes, Noël! it is the song of deliverance!

CHILDREN
Noël! Noël! Noël!

WERTHER
It is the hymn of forgiveness, retold by innocence!

CHILDREN
Noël! Noël! Noël!

CHARLOTTE (terrified by Werther’s delirium)
Werther!

WERTHER (becoming increasingly hallucinatory)
Why these tears? Do you believe then
that in this instant my life is over?
It is beginning, watch and you’ll see!

SOPHIE AND CHILDREN
Noël!

VOICE OF SOPHIE
Happiness is in the air !

VOICES OF CHILDREN
Noël ! Noël ! Noël !

VOICE OF SOPHIE
God permits us to be happy !

CHARLOTTE
Ah! His eyes are closing!
Ah! His hand is freezing! He is going to die…to die! Ah!
Pity!… Mercy!.. I don’t want this! I don’t want this!
Ah! Werther! Werther! Answer me! Answer!
You can still hear me!

Death, from between my arms, dares not take you!
You will live! You will live!
You see! I fear nothing anymore!

WERTHER
Charlotte! I am dying, yes, but
Listen well! Over there, at the base of the cemetery,
There are two tall lime trees!…
It is there that forever I would like to rest.

CHARLOTTE
Be still! Pity!

WERTHER
If this were refused to me, if Christian ground
is forbidden for the body of a poor wretch,
Near the road or in the lonely valley,
go to place my tomb !
By turning away his eyes, the priest will pass by…

CHARLOTTE
Werther!Pity!

WERTHER
But,in secret,a certain woman
Will come to visit the exile, and by one sweet tear,
Fallen on his shadow,the dead man, the poor ghost, will feel himself blessed!
(Werther reaches toward her …and dies.)

CHARLOTTE
Ah!

VOICES OF CHILDREN
Jesus is just born, here is our divine master,
kings and shepherds of Israel!

CHARLOTTE
Werther! Ah!
All is finished!

VOICES OF CHILDREN
Noël! Noël! Noël!

latraviata_showpage

La Traviata Act III duet:  “Parigi o cara”- Anything with Nutella

Anything with Nutella in it. Because, let’s be honest, Nutella is the food of denial.

On her deathbed, Alfredo sings of the future that will not be to his beloved Violetta.

We’ll leave Paris, my dearest,
Together we’ll go through life.
In reward for your past sorrows,
You’ll bloom into health again.
Breath of life, sunshine you’ll be to me,
All the years to come will smile on us.

If you don’t feel passionately satisfied after following this guide, we’ll bake you a cake.

Let us know your favorite piece from the list!

Happy Valentine’s Day, Darlings!
Liebe und Küsse! xoxo

enlight1-3

Leave a Reply

